

Community Heroes winner Thomas Marshall

Jul 27, 2023 16:58 BST

Trip of a lifetime handed out to 15 Community Heroes as part of Fred. Olsen Cruise Lines campaign

Fifteen deserving winners will be making waves after scooping a prize as part of our Community Heroes giveaway.

Fred. Olsen Cruise Lines partnered with The Scottish Sun to run a competition where readers could nominate their community heroes to win a cruise on board *Balmoral* departing from Rosyth.

Entries told tales of individuals setting up Scotland's first non-medical, 24/7 crisis centre, supplying schools and businesses with free hand sanitiser

during the pandemic, looking out for neighbours in sheltered housing and dedicating their life to volunteering.

Peter Deer, Managing Director at Fred. Olsen Cruise Lines, said:

"We were overwhelmed by the fantastic stories of selfless deeds entered as part of our Community Heroes competition in partnership with The Scottish Sun.

"We are thrilled to have been able to celebrate the region's unsung heroes who make a real difference in the local community.

"All of our winners contribute to bettering the lives of others and we are pleased to give them the recognition they deserve."

Among the winners were **Anne and Brian Rowan** who set up Chris's House, Scotland's first non-medical, 24/7 crisis centre after their son took his life in 2011.

Nominating the pair, friend and charity colleague Vikki Carson said: "Anne turned heartache into a lifetime dedicated to supporting other people."

Another winner was **Steven Cunningham**, who was nominated by his wife, Shelley, for 15 years of volunteering with the cadets.

Speaking about her husband who is registered blind, she said: "He's so deserving of it and I'm glad he was so surprised."

Hairdresser **Thomas Marshall** was nominated by friend Esther Gilchrist, who recently turned 100.

He helps sheltered housing residents, doing their shopping and odd jobs. Thomas said: "It's an amazing feeling because I never expected this at all. It's nice to be appreciated."

All 15 winners are:

Nicholas Mullen
Nicky Murphy
Craig Longwell
Bob Blair
Steff Murdoch
Paula Crielly
Thomas Marshall
Anne and Brian Rowan
Nancy Fyfe
Carla Clarke
Steven Cunningham
Steven Guild
Beth Reid
Rachel Jubb
Sarah Carson

For further information on Fred. Olsen Cruise Lines, visit the website at www.fredolsencruises.com Book online, call Reservations on 0800 0355 242 (Monday to Friday 8.30am to 6pm, Saturday 9am to 5pm, Sunday 10am to 4pm), or contact your ABTA travel agent.

Contacts



Ellis Orchard
Press Contact
Public Relations Manager
Public Relations
ellis.orchard@fredolsen.co.uk
07557672265



Georgina May
Press Contact
Public Relations Executive
Public Relations
georgina.may@fredolsen.co.uk



Lauren Gardner
Press Contact
Public Relations Manager
Public Relations
lauren.gardner@fredolsen.co.uk
07546807099